WG2: Production of carboxylic acids as platform molecules

Volkmar Passoth

Volkmar Passoth


Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, Sweden


Cristina González

Cristina González


IMDEA Energy, Spain

Valladolid University, Spain



Carboxylic acids or volatile fatty acids (VFAs) are inexpensive and renewable carbon sources that can be generated from anaerobic digestion of different feedstock. Given the great heterogeneity of the food waste, agricultural residues or even lignocellulosic feedstock, this process is considered very technologically favorable for obtaining a source of carbon assimilable by the yeasts. Furthermore, the process is almost completely independent of the composition of the substrate. When limiting the anaerobic digestion to the first three stages to avoid the production of biogas, the organic matter contained in the waste results in a mixture of VFAs. These compounds, can have different chain lengths (between C2-C6) and their prevalence depends on the composition of the substrate subjected to digestion and on the conditions of the anaerobic reactor (pH, temperature, organic load, hydraulic time of residence etc).


VFA production is nowadays considered as a novel technology for the development of future biotechnology industries. In this sense, some nonconventional yeasts species are highly tolerant to the presence of acids and can use them as platform molecules for biochemicals production. Therefore, the main objective of this WG is to study the production of VFAs from low-cost biodegradable substrates to be used as fermentation medium by optimizing anaerobic digestion conditions.

Specific Tasks of WG3 are:

  • To perform anaerobic digestion in discontinuous tests with high organic loading to favor VFAs production.

  • To perform VFAs production experiments in semi-continuous reactors.

  • Analyse the VFAs profile and yield depending on the process conditions.


CountryParticipantRoleE-mailInstitution of affiliation
AustriaMatthias SteigerParticipantmatthias.steiger@tuwien.ac.atTechnische Universität Wien
BelgiumInge Van BogaertParticipantInge.VanBogaert@UGent.beGhent University
BelgiumSophie RoelantsParticipantsophie.roelants@bbeu.orgBio Base Europe Pilot Plant
CroatiaAna Vrsalović PresečkiMC memberavrsalov@fkit.hrUniversity of Zagreb, Faculty of Chemical Engineering and Technology
DenmarkCésar FonsecaMC membercsf@bio.aau.dkAalborg University
FinlandUlla MoilanenWG1 Leader/MC memberulla.moilanen@hamk.fiHäme University of Applied Sciences
FranceJean-Marc NicaudMC memberjean-marc.nicaud@inra.frINRAE
FrancePierre FontanilleWG5 Leader/MC memberpierre.fontanille@uca.frUniversité Clermont Auvergne Institut Pascal Axe GePEB
HungaryCsaba FehérScience Com. Manager/MC membercsaba_feher@mail.bme.huBudapest University of Technology and Economics
IcelandHjörleifur EinarssonMC memberhei@unak.isUniversity of Akureyri
IrelandGaurav RajauriaMC membergaurav.rajauria@ucd.ieUCD Lyons Research Farm
IsraelAharon GedankenMC membergedanken@mail.biu.ac.ilBar-Ilan University, Ramat-Gan, Israel
ItalyGennaro AgrimiMC membergennaro.agrimi@uniba.itUniversity of Bari - Department of Biosciences, Biotechnologies and Biopharmaceutics
ItalyPaola BranduardiMC memberpaola.branduardi@unimib.itUniversity of Milano Bicocca
ItalyDavid BolzonellaParticipantdavid.bolzonella@univr.itUniversity of VERONA
ItalyValeria MapelliParticipantvaleria.mapelli@unimib.itUniversity of Milano Bicocca
ItalyStefano BertacchiParticipants.bertacchi@campus.unimib.itUniversity of Milano Bicocca
ItalyVittorio Giorgio SenatoreParticipantv.senatore@campus.unimib.itUniversity of Milano Bicocca
LuxembourgMagdalena CalusinskaWG6 Leader/MC membermagdalena.calusinska@list.luLuxembourg Institute of Science and technology
NetherlandsMerle de KreukMC memberm.k.dekreuk@tudelft.nlDelft University of Technology
NetherlandsJules van LierParticipant*j.b.vanlier@tudelft.nlDelft University of Technology
PortugalSusana MarquesSTSM-coordinator/MC membersusana.marques@lneg.ptLNEG - Bioenergy Unit
PortugalIsabel Soares SilvaParticipantijoao@bio.uminho.ptUniversidade do Minho
PortugalMargarida CasalParticipantmcasal@bio.uminho.ptUniversidade do Minho
PortugalPatrícia MouraParticipantpatricia.moura@lneg.ptNational Laboratory of Energy and Geology (LNEG)
SpainElia TomásChairelia.tomas@imdea.orgIMDEA Energy Institute
SpainPau FerrerParticipant*pau.ferrer@uab.catUniversitat Autònoma de Barcelona
SpainCrisitina GonzálezWG2 Vice-Leader/MC membercristina.gonzalez@imdea.orgIMDEA Energy Institute
SpainSilvia GresesParticipantsilvia.greses@imdea.orgIMDEA Energy Institute
SpainChristian KennesMC substitutec.kennes@udc.esUniversidade da Coruña
SwedenLisbeth OlssonWG4 Leader/MC memberlisbeth.olsson@chalmers.seChalmers University of Technology
SwedenVolkmar PassothWG2 Leader/MC membervolkmar.passoth@slu.seSwedish University of Agricultural Sciences, Department of Molecular Sciences
TurkeySebahat OztekinParticipantozakca.sebahat@gmail.comBayburt University
UKVinod KumarParticipantVinod.Kumar@cranfield.ac.ukCranfield University