WG5: Bioproducts generation from the carboxylate platform by non-conventional yeasts

Pierre Fontanille

Pierre Fontanille


Universite Clermont Auvergne, France


Gwendoline Christophe

Universite Clermont Auvergne, France



In addition to sugars, the so-called Volatile Fatty Acids (VFAs) are considered low-cost carbon sources for the production of bio-based compounds. These VFAs are obtained during the first stages of the anaerobic digestion process when biogas production is limited. The capacity of several non-conventional yeasts to assimilate a broad range of substrates make these microorganisms an exceptional choice for the conversion of VFAs into a vast number of bioproducts. VFAs obtained from low-cost raw materials in WG2 (e.g. agri-food residues, lignocellulose, etc.) will be used as feedstock for both naturally occurring and recombinant strains to produce industrially relevant bioproducts. Furthermore, particular traits of the non-conventional yeasts (e.g. tolerance to acid stress) will be highly desired and an important aspect to consider.


WG5 aims at comparing the production of different bioproducts from the carboxylic platform by means of non-conventional yeasts in terms of yields, productivities, profitability and environmental impact. Different non-conventional yeasts will be studied for the production of diverse final compounds from VFAs.

In particular, WG5 has the following Tasks:

  • Screening and selection of non-conventional yeasts with best properties to perform on VFAs.

  • Optimization of the different bioproducts process conditions to maximize product yields and titers.

  • Collection of research assays which will be planned and executed considering industrial requirements, in order to facilitate the subsequent scale-up of the process.


Attention: The internal data of table “7” is corrupted!

Funded by the Horizon 2020 Framework Programme of the European Union

COST (European Cooperation in Science and Technology) is a funding agency for research and innovation networks. Our Actions help connect research initiatives across Europe and enable scientists to grow their ideas by sharing them with their peers. This boosts their research, career and innovation.